Community Development

WCTCOG takes an active role in providing assistance to member cities, counties, school districts and special districts seeking funding for various community and economic development projects. Staff is available to meet with city councils, commissioners' courts, and other interested citizen groups concerning the application process available. WCTCOG provides contractual management services, grant writing services and grant administration as well as training and other special projects as well as basic technical assistance

Examples of the types of grants available including but not limited to the list below:

Texas Parks & Wildlife  Texas CDBG Program  Texas Capital Fund

STEP Grant    USDA

Texas Department of Agriculture -
Texas Community Development Block Grant (TxCDBG) Program

Regional Services staff assists the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) with the implementation of the Texas Community Development Block Grant Program (TxCDBG) in the WCTCOG region. Under this program, WCTCOG provides local community development planning as well as grant writing and administration. One of the most importatnt areas of the program is the Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG).

The objective of the TxCDBG program is the development of viable communities by providing public infrastructure, suitable living environments, and expanding economic opportunities, principally for persons of low and moderate income. Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) are available to eligible units of local government.

All incorporated cities and counties in the WCTCOG region are eligible for these funds, with the exception of the City of Abilene, an entitlement city that receives a direct allocation of CDBG funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. In the WCTCOG region, the Community Development Block Grant program focuses on providing basic infrastructure to rural communities. Projects given top funding priority include water, sewer system improvements and street improvements.

Anually, each of the 24 planning regions in the state receive a formula-based allocation of funds for which applicants can compete. The CDBG applications are scored based and criteria developed by the Regional Review Committee (RRC) and points allocated by Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA). The RRC is a 12-member committee composed of local elected officials appointed by the governor. Grants are awarded to the highest ranking cities or counties. Projects are funded until all available money is expended from the cycle.

RRC 2016 Guidebook    RRC 2018 Guidebook

Planning/Capacity Building Fund

Another important program under the TxCDBG is the Planning and Capacity Building Fund. This fund provides grant money for local planning activities. It has the same eligibility requirements as the CDBG fund. The planning process undertaken with these funds should result in an improved local capacity to identify long and short-term needs and to develop strategies to address identified.

Community and Economic Development Assistance Fund (CEDAF)

WCTCOG administers this program for the Texas Department of Agriculture. Regional Services staff aids local cities, counties or other local government agencies in acquiring a variety of information from grants available to demographic information needed to complete those grant applications.

The WCTCOG staff is also available to aid in grant applications to the Texas Community Development Block Grant. These grants are available for local governments to do infrastructure (water, wastewater, and streets) projects. The Regional Review Committee (RRC) is appointed by the Governor of the State of Texas. The RRC develops regional procedures and scores applications.

WCTCOG staff is also available to assist communities with updating city ordinances, (including but not limited to code or environmental enforcement ordinances), best management practices untilized by cities of the same size and geographic area.