3702 Loop 322 • Abilene, TX 79602 • 325-672-8544

Homeland Security
Protecting The Lives Of West Central Texans

Our Mission

Homeland Security is provided for by the Homeland Security Act of 2002. The Department of Homeland Security is in the executive branch of the United States government. The primary missions of the department include preventing terrorist attacks within the United States, reducing the vulnerability of the United States to terrorism at home, and minimizing the damage and assisting in the recovery from any attacks that may occur. The Department’s primary responsibilities correspond to the five major functions established by the bill within the Department: information analysis and infrastructure protection; chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and related countermeasures; border and transportation security; emergency preparedness and response; and coordination with other parts of the federal government, with state and local governments, and with the private sector.

The Department of Homeland Security has provided grants to be distributed to regions and local jurisdictions for the purchase of specific types of equipment to further the goal of preparedness. The West Central Texas Council of Governments region has received funding since 2004.

Current OOG State HS Program funding (SHSP):  Office of the Governor Public Safety Office Funding Opportunities